Trinity CertTESOL

What is CertTESOL?

The Certificate in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (Certificate in TESOL or CertTESOL), is an internationally acknowledged professional TEFL qualification designed to equip candidates with the necessary skills required to begin a career as an ESOL teacher anywhere in the world.

The Trinity CertTESOL is an accredited key certificate acceptable as an initial teacher education qualification for candidates without teaching experience and a reputable qualification for professional development for existing teachers and candidates.

CertTESOl is recognized by the British Council, rated at Level 5 of the England’s Ofqual Regulated Credit Framework and can be compared to the second year level of an undergraduate degree.

How It Works?

1. Choose a TEFL Location

Choose from over 50+ Cambridge CELTA and Trinity CertTESOL teacher training courses around the world.
TEFL Course Locations

2. Book a Course

Get personal advice and answers to your questions from our top experts before you book a CELTA or a CertTESOL course.

3. Start Teaching

Complete the course and get ready to launch yourself as an English teacher along with some travel, fun and adventure.

Who is this course for?

The Trinity CertTESOL is for:

  • Fresh graduates interested in getting a high standard of training needed to become an English teacher to speaker of other languages.
  • Existing teachers pursuing a well-recognized English teaching certificate that opens a wide variety of opportunities across the world while maintaining a high professional standard.
  • Professionals from other fields wishing to switch to the English teaching career.

5 reasons to take a CertTESOL course

  • Trinity CertTESOL is recognized globally therefore holders have the privilege of being able to apply for jobs with a certificate that is acceptable anywhere in the world.
  • Trinity CertTESOL is recognized by the British Council and the office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulations (Ofqual) of England at level 5 based on the Qualifications and Credit Framework and follows an approved framework.
  • Holders of the Trinity CertTESOL can apply to all British Language Schools across the world thereby creating for them a broadened horizon and bigger job opportunities.
  • CertTESOL provides adequate training with necessary skills and empowerment on how to handle various learning and teaching contexts as a professional ESOL teacher.
  • Trinity CertTESOL course exposes candidates to teaching practice with real learners and learning environments, lesson plan and evaluation practice, supervision by experienced tutors as well as self and tutor based evaluation and feedback.

CertTESOL Course Content

The CertTESOL course content is made of five main units which are assessed and scored by internal course tutors except Unit 4 assessed by an external moderator.

Unit 1- Teaching Skills: This unit is assessed by tutors through an evaluation of practical teaching with real learners in a real learning context. Usually a total of six teaching hours is required.

Unit 2- Language awareness: This unit covers grammar and phonology and is evaluated through a test or a practical project as well as the trainee’s current use of oral and written English.

Unit 3- Learner Profile: Evaluated through trainee’s ability to prepare a simple linguistic profile and needs analysis for learners, ono-to-one lesson planning and recommendations for learner’s future language development

Unit 4- Materials Assignment: This unit is assessed by an external moderator through trainee’s preparation and use of teaching material as well as an interview on the development of teaching materials and its impact on teaching skills.

Unit 5- Unknown Language: Evaluated through classroom management and methods analysis and its effects on learners combined with a journal on the trainee’s reflective observations on tuition in an unknown language.

Ways to take a CertTESOL course

The CertTESOL is a full time training assessment with classes spanning 9.00am to 5.00pm Mondays to Fridays including several hours of teaching practice.

Entry Requirements

To be eligible for the Trinity CertTESOL, candidates must meet the following conditions:

  • Age requirement:  Be at least 18 years of age
  • Educational qualification: Educational level sufficient for entry application into higher institutions at the applicant's country
  • English language requirement: Possess excellent written and oral English skills either as a native speaker or as a second language.
  • Teaching skills: Be able to teach or explain appropriate basics of English language to learners  within their contexts
  • Teamwork and constructive criticism: Ability to work together with a group and also respond positively to feedbacks.
  • Multitasking/combined study: Ability to work on more than one project at  time including classwork and practical training

CertTESOL Assessment

The Trinity CertTESOl trainees are assessed in a number of different ways.

  • Continuous Assessments by your tutors during the training.
  • Writing Assignments related to what you are being taught.
  • Teaching practice moderated and guided by your tutors with feedbacks and evaluation.
  • External Assessment by an external moderator at the end of your training.
  • Interview on your course work and progress with your tutors moderated by external assessors.
  • Examination at the end of your training course which will cover all that you have learnt during the course including grammar and phonology.

What Next? - The Application Process

  1. First Step - Express your interest by submitting the application form here.
  2. Second Step - Receive a pre-interview task based on the location you've choosen.
  3. Third Step - Submit the completed task, and get invited for an interview.
  4. Final Step - Confirm your place after a successful interview.

Get In Touch

Need help in finding the right TEFL course? We'd love to hear from you and help!

Contact Us